Faculty of Mathematics and Physical Sciences

Search site

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises and celebrates good employment practice for women working in science, engineering and technology (SET) in higher education and research.

The University was awarded an institutional Athena SWAN Bronze Award in 2009, which allowed individual Schools or Faculties to then apply for a “departmental” Bronze or Silver Award and in May 2010 a decision to apply, at MaPS Faculty level, was agreed by the Faculty Equality and Diversity Committee and endorsed by Faculty Management Committee.

On 30 March 2012 the Faculty of Mathematics and Physical Sciences was awarded a Silver Athena SWAN Department award, in recognition of the efforts made to advance the careers of females in mathematics and physical sciences.  

The award was made based on a submission prepared by a Faculty Self-Assessment Team with representatives from the Schools who worked hard to collect and analyse staff/student data, compile case studies, and prepare the application (including an action plan), which was submitted on 29 November 2011.

2014 update

In November 2014 the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) granted an extension of MaPS Silver Award until April 2016.

Renewal of Silver Award April 2016

During 2015 the Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT), working with School “SWAN” Teams, has continued to coordinate the Faculty activity (working with other colleagues, committees and groups in all Schools, as appropriate) and undertaken an Assessment of Progress against our Original Action Plan (2011-2014); this work has fed in to the writing of our Faculty Athena SWAN Silver Renewal Application and the development of our latest Athena SWAN Action Plan (2016-2019), which we will now be progressing to deliver further improvements in the coming months and years. 

MaPS made a submission to ECU for renewal of our Silver Award at the end of April 2016. NB a number of MaPS staff also helped the University apply for an institutional Silver Award at the end of April 2016; this work was led by the Dean of MaPS. 

Find out more about the success of our female staff and students across the Faculty. 

"In line with the University of Leeds values, the Faculty of Mathematics and Physical Sciences aims to provide an environment that supports scientific excellence, professionalism, community, integrity and inclusiveness for all staff and students. The Faculty recognises that good employment practices and commitment to equality and inclusivity, including the provision of an inclusive student education, are integral to achieving this."

Professor Stephen Scott, Faculty Dean

For more information about the Athena Swan Charter for Women in Science please visit their website.

The Self Assessment Team members are:

Dr Kelvin Tapley

Pro-Dean Student Education, Chemistry (Chair)

Prof Stephen Scott

Dean of MaPS

Mrs Christina Craven    

HR Manager, MaPS

Mrs Nicola Williams

HR Officer, MaPS

Ms Ruth Sweetland   

Faculty Strategy Project Manager, MaPS

Prof Charles Taylor    


Dr John-Paul Gosling    


Prof Jeanine Houwing-Duistermaat
Dr Terence Kee    


Miss Cecilia Madzivire
Dr Danielle Miles

Chemistry (Postdoctoral Rep)

Dr Caroline Orfila

Food Science and Nutrition

Mrs Catherine Roberts

Food Science and Nutrition

Dr Sven Van Loo
Dr Almut Beige

Physics and Astronomy
Physics and Astronomy

In attendance - Mrs Maria Ayaz and Ms Zarina Sutton (University Athena SWAN team, now part of Equality Policy Unit).

Useful web links

University of Leeds Equality and Inclusion

Women at Leeds Network (WaLN) (formerly WiSET)

External networks, organisations and publications of interest to women in SET.